Minutes of the Town of Coalhurst 2022/2023 Organizational Meeting of Council Held In Council Chambers on Tuesday, November 1, 2022

Present: Lyndsay Montina Mayor

Scott Akkermans Councillor
Heather Caldwell Councillor
Deborah Florence Councillor
Jesse Potrie Councillor

Jeffrey Coffman Chief Administrative Officer (Interim)

Mike Passey Director of Corporate Services

CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Montina called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

ADOPT THE AGENDA

M#7258-22 Councillor Potrie moved to Adopt the Agenda as presented. Carried

SELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

M#7259-22 Mayor Montina moved that the Council of the Town of Coalhurst hereby appoints Councillor Potrie to the office of Deputy Mayor for the 2022/2023 term. Carried

FIX DATES. TIMES & PLACE OF ALL REGULAR MEETINGS

M#7260-22 Councillor Akkermans moved that the dates, times and place, including through electronic means, of all regular Council meetings will be held as set out in Section 6.0 of the Council Procedural Bylaw No. 422-21.

Carried

MEMBER APPOINTMENT: EXTERNAL BOARDS AND COMMITTEES

- M#7261-22 Cllr Caldwell moved that the following external board and committee appointments be made for the 2022/2023 term:
 - a. Municipal Subdivision & Development Authority (Councillor Caldwell, Councillor Potrie, Member-at-Large Stan Reynolds)
 - b. Chinook Intermunicipal Subdivision & Development Appeal Board (Councillor Akkermans, Members-at-Large Irene Hildebrandt, Brody Prete)
 - c. Green Acres Foundation (Councillor Caldwell)
 - d. Oldman River Regional Services Commission (Councillor Potrie)

Page 2 Minutes: Of The Town of Coalhurst 2021/2022 Organizational Meeting Of Council Held On Tuesday, October 26, 2021

.

- e. Emergency Measures Advisory Committee (Councillor Caldwell, Councillor Florence, Members-at-Large Barbara Edgecombe-Green)
- f. Community Futures Lethbridge Region (Councillor Florence)
- g. SouthGrow Regional Initiative (Councillor Akkermans)
- h. Barons-Eureka-Warner F.C.S.S. Board (Mayor Montina)
- i. Chinook Arch Regional Library System (Mayor Montina)
- j. Regional Local Assessment Review Board (Councillor Potrie)
- k. Regional Composite Assessment Review Board (Councillor Potrie)
- 1. Oldman Watershed Council (Councillor Akkermans)
- m. Intermunicipal Committee with Lethbridge County (Mayor Montina, Councillor Caldwell, Councillor Florence (Chair))
- n. Intermunicipal Committee (Mayor Montina, Councillor Florence, Councillor Akkermans)
- o. Mayor's/Reeves (Mayor Montina)
- p. Highway 3 Twinning Development Association (Councillor Florence)

Carried

MEMBER APPOINTMENTS: INTERNAL COMMITTEES - AMENDMENT

- M#7262-22 Councillor Florence moved that Council amend Policy 00-01-03 to:
 - A. Delete 2.b "Risk Management Committee" and disband the Risk Management Committee,
 - B. Include 'corporate risk management' in the responsibilities of the Policy/Bylaw Review Committee, and update the Terms of Reference for the Policy/Bylaw Review Committee,
 - C. Delete 2.d "Community Sustainability/Enhancement Committee" and disband the Community Sustainability/Enhancement Committee, and
 - D. Add 2.a "Agenda Setting Committee" and add the Terms of Reference to Policy 00-01-03

Carried

MEMBER APPOINTMENTS: INTERNAL COMMITTEES

- M#7263-22 Deputy Mayor Potrie moved that the following internal committee appointments be made for the 2022/2023 term:
 - a. Agenda Setting Committee (Mayor Montina and Deputy Mayor)
 - b. Policy/Bylaw Review Committee (Councillor Florence, Councillor Akkermans)

Page 3 Minutes: Of The Town of Coalhurst 2021/2022 Organizational Meeting Of Council Held On Tuesday, October 26, 2021

.

- Recreation and Culture Committee (Councillor Caldwell, Councillor Potrie, members-at-large – Stephenie Karsten, Chris Evetts and Aaron Wolfe)
- d. Staff/Community Leadership Appreciation Event Committee (Councillor Florence, Councillor Potrie)
- e. Committee of the Whole (All Council) Mayor Montina, Chair
- f. Finance Committee (All Council) Mayor Montina, Chair

CORPORATE APPOINTMENTS

- M#7264-22 Cllr Akkermans moved that the following corporate appointments be made for the 2022/2023 term:
 - a. Assessor Benchmark Assessment Consultants Inc. Lance Wehlage
 - b. Assessment Review Board Clerk ORRSC
 - c. Chinook Intermunicipal Subdivision & Development Appeal Board Clerk ORRSC
 - d. Director of Emergency Management Chris Evetts
 - e. Deputy Director of Emergency Management To Be Determined
 - f. Public Information Officer Mike Passey
 - g. Disaster Social Services/Transportation Services Officer Barbara Edgecombe-Green
 - h. Health Inspector Alberta Health Services
 - i. Engineer (for services less than \$75,000.00) MPE Engineering Ltd.
 - j. Solicitor North & Company Kerry Gellrich
 - k. Auditor KPMG Mark DeBlois
 - Risk Management Coordinators Chief Administrative Officer and Kevin Lewis
 - m. Development Officer Sarah Mitchell
 - n. Weed Inspector Kevin Lewis
 - o. FOIP Head Chief Administrative Officer
 - p. Pest Control Inspector Kevin Lewis
 - q. Tangible Capital Asset Engineer d.e. Mapping Ltd.
 - r. Quality Management Plan (QMP) Manager Chief Administrative Officer
 - s. Safety Codes Services Park Enterprises Ltd.

Carried

Page 4	Minutes: Of The Town of Coalhurst 2021/2022 Organizational Meeting Of Council Held On Tuesday, October 26, 2021
M#7265-22	Cllr Caldwell moved that the signing authority for the Town of Coalhurst is: a. Mayor Montina, or in her absence, the Deputy Mayor or, in the Deputy Mayor's absence, Councillor Akkermans, and b. The Chief Administrative Officer or, in their absence, the Director of Corporate Services. Carried
	OTHER ORGANIZATIONAL MATTERS
M#7266-22	Cllr Florence moved that the Council for the Town of Coalhurst reaffirms its commitment to the Ethical Guidelines of Conduct for Members of Council dated May 7, 2002. Carried
	ADJOURNMENT
M#7267-22	Deputy Mayor Potrie moved the meeting adjourned at 6:46 p.m. Carried
	Mayor
	Chief Administrative Officer