Minutes: Of The Town of Coalhurst 2021/2022 Organizational Meeting of Council Held In Council Chambers on Tuesday, October 26, 2021

Present: Lv

Lyndsay Montina Mayor
Scott Akkermans Councillor
Heather Caldwell Councillor
Deborah Florence Councillor
Jesse Potrie Councillor

Kim Hauta Chief Administrative Officer
Kyle Bullock Director of Corporate Services
Lesley Leblanc Executive Assistant to the CAO

Staff Sergeant Michael Numan Coaldale Rural/Municipal RCMP Detachment

Chief Administrative Officer Hauta called the meeting to order at 1:27 p.m.

Chief Administrative Officer Hauta presented the Official Election Results.

OATHS OF OFFICE

Staff Sergeant Numan administered the Oath of Office for Lyndsay Montina for the position of Mayor.

Mayor Montina assumed the Chair. Mayor Montina and Staff Sergeant Numan administered the Oath of Office for the positions of Councillor.

SELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

M#6856-21 Mayor Montina moved that the Council of the Town of Coalhurst hereby appoints Councillor Caldwell to the office of Deputy Mayor for the 2021/2022 term. Carried

Mayor Montina and Staff Sergeant Numan administered the Oath of Office for Councillor Caldwell for the office of Deputy Mayor.

Staff Sergeant Numan left the Council Chambers at 1:42 p.m.

FIX DATES, TIMES & PLACE OF ALL REGULAR MEETINGS

- M#6857-21 Mayor Montina moved that the dates, times and place, including through electronic means, of all regular Council meetings will be held as set out in Section 6.0 of the Council Procedural Bylaw No. 422-21. Defeated
- M#6858-21 Mayor Montina moved that the Council of the Town of Coalhurst hereby approves a time change for all regular Council meetings from 7:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. Furthermore, that Bylaw No. 422-21 Council Procedural Bylaw, Section 6.0, be amended accordingly. Carried

Page 2 Minutes: Of The Town of Coalhurst 2021/2022 Organizational Meeting Of Council Held On Tuesday, October 26, 2021

.

APPOINTMENT OF BOARD MEMBERS

- M#6859-21 Mayor Montina moved that the following appointments be made for the 2021/2022 term:
 - a. Municipal Subdivision & Development Authority (Deputy Mayor Caldwell, Councillor Potrie, Member-at-Large Stan Reynolds) Chairman Councillor Potrie
 - b. Chinook Intermunicipal Subdivision & Development Appeal Board (Councillor Akkermans, Members-at-Large Irene Hildebrandt)
 - c. Green Acres Foundation (Deputy Mayor Caldwell)
 - d. Oldman River Regional Services Commission (Councillor Potrie)
 - e. Emergency Advisory Committee (Deputy Mayor Caldwell, Councillor Florence, Members-at-Large Barbara Edgecombe-Green)
 - f. Community Futures Lethbridge Region (Deputy Mayor Caldwell)
 - g. SouthGrow Regional Initiative (Councillor Akkermans)
 - h. Barons-Eureka-Warner F.C.S.S. Board (Mayor Montina)
 - i. Chinook Arch Regional Library System (Mayor Montina)
 - j. Regional Local Assessment Appeal Board (Councillor Potrie)
 - k. Regional Composite Assessment Appeal Board (Councillor Potrie)
 - 1. Oldman Watershed Council (Councillor Akkermans)
 - m. Intermunicipal Committee with Lethbridge County (Mayor Montina, Deputy Mayor Caldwell, Councillor Florence) – Chairman, on behalf of Town, Councillor Florence
 - n. Intermunicipal Committee (Mayor Montina, Councillor Florence, Councillor Akkermans)
 - o. Mayor's/Reeves (Mayor Montina)

Carried

INTERNAL COMMITTEES

- M#6860-21 Mayor Montina moved that the following Internal Committee appointments be made for the 2021/2022 term:
 - a. Risk Management Committee (Councillor Akkermans, Councillor Florence)
 - b. Policy/Bylaw Review Committee (Councillor Florence, Councillor Akkermans)
 - c. Community Sustainability/Enhancement Committee (Mayor Montina, Councillor Akkermans)
 - d. Recreation and Culture Committee (Mayor Montina, Deputy Mayor Caldwell, members-at-large Kim Horak)
 - e. Staff/Volunteer Appreciation Event Committee (Councillor Florence, Councillor Potrie)
 - f. Finance Committee (All Council) Chairman Montina Carried

INTERNAL APPOINTMENTS

M#6861-21 Councillor Akkermans moved that the following appointments are confirmed for the 2021/2022 term:

.....

- a. Assessor Benchmark Assessment Consultants Inc. Morgan Strate
- b. Assessment Review Board Clerk ORRSC
- c. Chinook Intermunicipal Subdivision & Development Appeal Board Clerk
 ORRSC
- d. Director of Emergency Management –
- e. Deputy Director of Emergency Management –
- f. Public Information Officer Kyle Bullock
- g. Disaster Social Services/Transportation Services Officer Barbara Edgecombe-Green
- h. Health Inspector Alberta Health Services
- i. Engineer (for services less than \$75,000.00) MPE Engineering Ltd.
- j. Solicitor North & Company Kerry Gellrich
- k. Auditor KPMG Mark DeBlois
- 1. Risk Management Coordinators Kim Hauta and Kevin Lewis
- m. Development Officer Leda Kozak Tittsworth
- n. Weed Inspector Kevin Lewis
- o. FOIP Head Kim Hauta
- p. Pest Control Inspector Kevin Lewis
- q. Tangible Capital Asset Engineer d.e. Mapping Ltd.
- r. Quality Management Plan (QMP) Manager Leda Kozak Tittsworth
- s. Safety Codes Services Park Enterprises Ltd.

Carried

SIGNING AUTHORITY

M#6862-21 Mayor Montina moved that the signing authority for the Town of Coalhurst is Mayor Montina or in her absence Deputy Mayor Caldwell or in her absence Councillor Akkermans and Chief Administrative Officer Hauta or in his absence Director of Corporate Services Bullock. Carried

DIRECTOR OF CORPORATE SERVICES

Director of Corporate Services Bullock provided Council with a human resources overview.

Town Planner Diane Horvath and Development Officer Leda Kozak Tittsworth entered the Council Chambers at 2:47 p.m.

TOWN PLANNER DIANE HORVATH

Town Planner Horvath met with Council to present a planning overview.

Town Planner Horvath and Development Officer Tittsworth left the Council Chambers at 3:25 p.m.

ETHICAL GUIDELINES OF CONDUCT FOR MEMBERS OF COUNCIL

M#6863-21 Deputy Mayor Caldwell moved that this Council of the Town of Coalhurst confirms its commitment to the Ethical Guidelines of Conduct for Members of Council dated May 7, 2002. Carried

Page 4	Minutes: Of The Town of Coalhurst 2021/2022 Organizational Meeting Of Council Held On Tuesday, October 26, 2021
	STRATEGIC PLAN 2019-2022
	Chief Administrative Officer Hauta provided an overview of the Strategic Plan 2019-2022.
	BYLAW NO. 426-21 – COUNCIL CODE OF CONDUCT BYLAW
	Chief Administrative Officer Hauta provided an overview of Bylaw No. 426-21 – Council Code of Conduct Bylaw.
	BYLAW NO. 422-21 – COUNCIL PROCEDURAL BYLAW
	Chief Administrative Officer Hauta provided an overview of Bylaw No. 422-21 – Council Procedural Bylaw.
	UPCOMING CONVENTION/MEETING SESSIONS
	Chief Administrative Officer Hauta provided information on the upcoming AUMA Convention and other meetings/sessions.
	OTHER ORGANIZATIONAL MATTERS
	Chief Administrative Officer Hauta provided information on other organizational matters.
	COMMUNITY FUTURES LETHBRIDGE REGION: DIGITAL SERVICE SQUAD GRANT LETTER OF SUPPORT
M#6864-21	Deputy Mayor Caldwell moved that the Council of the Town of Coalhurst hereby authorizes Chief Administrative Officer Hauta to submit a letter to Community Futures Lethbridge Region in support of their application for a Digital Service Squad grant. Carried
	ADJOURNMENT
M#6865-21	Councillor Florence moved the meeting adjourned at 4:24 p.m. Carried
	
	Mayor
	Chief Administrative Officer