BYLAW NO. 412-20

BEING A BYLAW OF THE TOWN OF COALHURST, IN THE PROVINCE OF ALBERTA, TO SPECIFY THE NUMBER OF COUNCILLORS SITTING ON THE MUNICIPAL COUNCIL;

WHEREAS, the Municipal Government Act states that the Council of a City or Town consists of seven (7) Councillors unless the Council passes a bylaw specifying a higher or lower odd number;

WHEREAS, the Council of the Town of Coalhurst, in the Province of Alberta, has the authority to increase or decrease the number of Councillors, as specified in the Municipal Government Act.

NOW THEREFORE, pursuant to the provisions of the Municipal Government Act, Revised Statutes of Alberta 2000, Chapter M-26, as amended, the Council of the Town of Coalhurst, in the Province of Alberta, duly assembled, **HEREBY ENACTS AS FOLLOWS:**

- 1. The Municipal Council for the Town of Coalhurst shall decrease to five (5) with the General Election in October 2021 and shall consist of the following:
 - a. A Chief Elected Official, otherwise referred to as the "Mayor", to be elected by separate ballot, and;
 - b. Four (4) Councillors; to be elected at large
- 2. Bylaw No. 405-19 is hereby repealed in October 2021.
- 3. This Bylaw comes into force upon the date of the passing of the third and final reading thereof.

READ A FIRST TIME THIS 14TH DAY OF JANUARY, A.D. 2020

READ A SECOND TIME THIS 3RD DAY OF MARCH, A.D. 2020

READ A THIRD TIME AND FINALLY PASSED THIS 3RD DAY OF MARCH, A.D. 2020

MAYOR

CHIEF ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER