Minutes: Of The Town of Coalhurst 2016/2017 Organizational Meeting of Council Held In Council Chambers on Tuesday, October 18, 2016

Present:

Dennis Cassie Mayor
Heather Caldwell Councillor
Barbara Edgecombe-Green Councillor
Marvin Slingerland Councillor
Sheldon Watson Councillor

Kim Hauta Chief Administrative Officer

Mayor Cassie called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

CODE OF CONDUCT REGULATION

Chief Administrative Officer Hauta provided a Code of Conduct Regulation Session.

SELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

M#4903-16 Mayor Cassie moved that the Council of the Town of Coalhurst hereby appoints Councillor Caldwell to the office of Deputy Mayor for the 2016/2017 term. Carried Unanimously

Mayor Cassie administered the Oath of Office for Heather Caldwell for the office of Deputy Mayor.

FIX DATES, TIMES & PLACE OF ALL REGULAR MEETINGS

M#4904-16 Mayor Cassie moved that the dates, times and place of all regular Council meetings will be held as set out in Section 5 of the Procedure Bylaw No. 240-97. Carried Unanimously

APPOINTMENT OF BOARD MEMBERS

- M#4905-16 Mayor Cassie moved that the following appointments be made for the 2016/2017 term:
 - a. Municipal Subdivision & Development Authority (Caldwell, Edgecombe-Green, Member-at-Large – Lawrence Watmough) – Chairman Caldwell
 - b. Municipal Subdivision & Development Appeal Board (Slingerland, Alternate Watson and three members of the ORRSC Intermunicipal Subdivision and Development Appeal Board)
 - c. Green Acres Foundation (Caldwell)
 - d. Oldman River Regional Services Commission (Watson)
 - e. Emergency Measures (Cassie, Edgecombe-Green)
 - f. Community Futures Lethbridge Region (Edgecombe-Green)

Page 2 Minutes: Of The Town of Coalhurst 2016/2017 Organizational Meeting Of Council Held On Tuesday, October 18, 2016

- g. SouthGrow Regional Initiative (Cassie and business representative
)
- h. Barons-Eureka-Warner F.C.S.S. Board (two positions rotated between Barons, Coalhurst, Nobleford and Picture Butte) (Coalhurst 2015 2017) (Edgecombe-Green)
- i. Chinook Arch Regional Library System (Caldwell)
- j. Regional Local Assessment Appeal Board (Caldwell)
- k. Regional Composite Assessment Appeal Board (Caldwell)
- 1. Southern Alberta Energy-From-Waste Alliance (Cassie)
- m. Oldman Watershed Council (Caldwell)
- n. Intermunicipal Committee with Lethbridge County (Edgecombe-Green, Slingerland, Watson) – Chairman, on behalf of Town, Slingerland
- o. Intermunicipal Committee (Edgecombe-Green, Slingerland, Watson)
- p. Joint Public Safety Committee (Cassie)

Carried Unanimously

INTERNAL COMMITTEES

- M#4906-16 Mayor Cassie moved that the following Internal Committee appointments be made for the 2016/2017 term:
 - a. Risk Management Committee (Caldwell, Edgecombe-Green) Chairman Caldwell
 - b. Economic Development Committee (Cassie, Watson) Chairman Watson
 - c. Policy/Bylaw Review Committee (Cassie, Edgecombe-Green) Chairman Edgecombe-Green
 - d. Recreation/Cultural Services Committee (Slingerland, Watson) Chairman Watson
 - e. Community Enhancement Committee (Caldwell, Watson) Chairman Caldwell
 - f. Finance Committee (Cassie, Slingerland) Chairman Slingerland
 - g. Local Issues Committee (Cassie) Chairman Cassie Carried Unanimously

INTERNAL APPOINTMENTS

- M#4907-16 Mayor Cassie moved that the Council of the Town of Coalhurst hereby accept the resignation of Alan Hird as Deputy Director of Emergency Management, effective November 15, 2016. Carried Unanimously
- M#4908-16 Mayor Cassie moved that the following appointments are confirmed for the 2016/2017 term:
 - a. Assessor Benchmark Assessment Consultants Inc. Morgan Strate
 - b. Assessment Review Board Clerk ORRSC

Page 3 Minutes: Of The Town of Coalhurst 2016/2017 Organizational Meeting Of Council Held On Tuesday, October 18, 2016

- c. Municipal Subdivision & Development Appeal Board Clerk ORRSC
- d. Director of Emergency Management Colin Emerson
- e. Deputy Director of Emergency Management Alan Hird
- f. Public Information Officer Barbara Edgecombe-Green
- g. Health Inspector Alberta Health Services
- h. Engineer MPE Engineering Ltd.
- i. Solicitor North & Company Phil North
- j. Auditor KPMG Mark De Blois
- k. Risk Management Coordinators Kim Hauta and Kevin Lewis
- 1. Development Officer ORRSC Leda Kozak Tittsworth
- m. Weed Inspector Kevin Lewis
- n. FOIP Head Kim Hauta
- o. Pest Control Inspector Kevin Lewis
- p. Tangible Capital Asset Engineer Associated Engineering Alberta Ltd.
- q. Bylaw Enforcement Officer Tyson Lommerts Carried Unanimously

SIGNING AUTHORITY

M#4909-16 Mayor Cassie moved that the signing authority for the Town of Coalhurst is Mayor Cassie or in his absence Deputy Mayor Caldwell or in her absence Councillor Slingerland and Chief Administrative Officer Hauta or in his absence Director of Corporate Services Bullock. Carried Unanimously

ADJOURNMENT

M#4910-16 Mayor Cassie moved the meeting adjourned at 7:47 p.m. Carried Unanimously

Mayor		
•		