Role of Local Government

Find information on the nature and role of local government in your community.

Municipal government is the third level or tier of government, typically responsible for matters such as writing, implementing, and enforcing local bylaws and policies, issuing licenses and permits, and delivering utilities, such as water.

By comparison, the Government of Canada (federal government) is usually responsible for matters that have broad national impact, such as setting and enforcing health care policy, or defence and foreign policy issues — matters that may or may not directly impact the Town of Coalhurst. Meanwhile, the Government of Alberta (provincial government) is responsible for areas including the delivery of health care services, education, and other social services.

MP:  Rachael Harder
Ottawa Office:
House of Commons
Ottawa, Ontario Canada   K1A 0A6
Telephone: (613) 992-4516
Fax: (613) 992-6181
Mail may be sent postage-free to any Member of Parliament.

Constituency Office(s)
255 – 8th Street South (Main Office)
Lethbridge, Alberta   T1K 4Y1
Telephone: (403) 320-0070
Fax: (403) 380-4026


MLA:  Dave Schneider
Legislature Office
601 Legislature Annex
9718 107 Street Edmonton, AB Canada T5K 1E4
Phone: (780) 644-7134
Fax: (780) 638-3506

Constituency Office
P.O. Box 231
Vulcan, AB Canada T0L 2B0
Phone: (403) 485-3160
Toll-Free: 1-800-563-0917
Fax: (403) 643-2024

For more on local government, visit:

Comments are closed.